Explore Greece Plan your trips Take your trips with you Experience & visit places in 360 images and videos
guide_home
Let us guide you!
Are you travelling in Greece but don't know where to start? Do you want to plan your trip?
What is Dimoleon
Dimoleon offers a trip planner and mobile argumentative application that will guide you every where around your trips
Our picks
Most liked places
image presenting excursion Koziakas
Koziakas
undefined
Place
Trikala,Koziakas
image presenting excursion Dimosari Main Waterfall
Dimosari Main Waterfall
Near Nidri and Dimosari Gorge, is Dimosari Waterfall. There is a constant flow of water and so even in summer it is worth visiting the area.
image presenting excursion Agios Gerasimos Oriental Plane Tree
Agios Gerasimos Oriental Plane Tree
The Oriental Plane Tree of Agios Gerasimos was planted around 1570 by Saint Gerasimos. The saint's procession ends under this tree.
Place
Cefalonia
image presenting excursion Hiking Pertouli Ski Center – Koziakas Refuge
Hiking Pertouli Ski Center – Koziakas Refuge
undefined
Place
Trikala,Koziakas
image presenting excursion Mill of Matsopoulos
Mill of Matsopoulos
In the north-west of the city, on the way of Trikala-Arta, after the railway line, the park of the Mill Matsopoylos is found. It was manufactured in 1884 and in 1977 it was bequeathed to the Municipality of Trikala. In 1984 its operation stopped. The complex of the Mill today constitutes a historical-industrial monument, is found in a greenery space. Aesthetically it draws the visitor’s attention not only by its large height but also by its exterior investment by stone and its internal installations that are wooden.  The Mill today, which has been maintained, functions as cultural centre. The Municipal Cinema (summery-wintry), the Municipal Theatre and the Cafeteria function on a permanent base. A congress room also functions and a hall for cultural events.
Place
Trikala,Trikala
image presenting excursion Vromonas islet
Vromonas islet
The islet of Bromona is located in the southern group of Echinades with an area of ​​1047 acres. The islet belongs to the National Park of Messolonghi-Aetolian Lagoon, downstream and estuaries of rivers Acheloos-Evinos and Echinades islands and spatially belongs to the Management Unit of Messolonghi National Park and Protected Areas of Erehada.
image presenting excursion Trikala Castle
Trikala Castle
The castle lies on a hill at the northeastern side of the city, and was first built, according to Procopius of Caesarea, by Emperor Justinian I (r. 527–565) on the ruins of the acropolis of the ancient city of Trikke. In its current form it largely dates from the Palaiologan period, where it was extensively rebuilt and remodelled. The citadel suffered much damage during its conquest by the Ottoman Turks in 1393/4, but the city's importance as a bulwark against the restless inhabitants of the Pindus mountains and the Agrafa region, as well as being the centre of the Ottoman administration in Thessaly, meant that it was quickly repaired and strengthened. The castle suffered damage and was repaired after the failed rebellions of 1854 and 1878 against Ottoman rule. The castle is, according to the archaeologist Krystallo Mantzana, a "typical Byzantine fortification", with an elongated shape along an axis from southwest to north, strengthened by square towers. The castle comprises three distinct enceintes on different levels of the hill: the lower fortress on the southern slope of the hill; the middle fortress, which is the largest of the three; and the inner fortress, also known by its Turkish name Its Kale (Ιτς Καλέ), which lies on the northeastern corner of the castle is protected by four particularly large and tall towers. Traces of the original Justinianian fortification have been found in the southern slopes, as well as the area of the inner citadel. On the eastern side of the castle is the Clock Tower of Trikala, originally erected in the mid-17th century by the Ottomans. The original tower was destroyed by the Germans during World War II, and was rebuilt after the war.
Place
Trikala,Trikala
Outdoor Activities
With so much to do and see in Greece, the opportunities are truly endless. Check any activities that you might like and plun your trip.
Tour 1
Diapontia Island Complex (Othonoi, Ereikousa, Mathraki Kai Vrachonisides)
Three inhabited and five uninhabited small islands, covered mainly by conifers, tall maquis and olive groves. Othonoi islands has extensive sea cliffs and rocky slopes (max. altitude 385 m.) Most of the uninhabited islets are covered by low vegetation on a rocky substratum, ideal for nesting seabirds. Source: Natura2000 viewer, European Comission.
Location
Coordinates
39.84193174 - 19.40401196
Tour 1
In the beautiful forest
In the beautiful forest: A circular route in the forest of Kalafationes   The walker’s orientation and safety is solely their responsibility. The present report, the relevant tracks (gpx) and the rest of the informational material are just supplementary. The proper equipment is necessary, depending on the weather conditions and the nature of the route.   Route’s type: circular Route’s duration: one hour and twenty minutes Route’s length: 4.000m Level of difficulty: easy Suggested season: all seasons, if weather conditions permit it. It is recommended to avoid rainy days or the days afterwards.   The route The route starts from the parking area of the settlement and after walking through the beautiful settlement we reach the central square. There we have to be careful to take the right cobbled path leading to the trail. It is the small downhill, to the north - northeast, next to the large cobbled path. After walking a little more on the outskirts of the settlement, take the path north-northwest. The path is not marked but now and then we find a yellow wooden sign with a hedgehog. The trail passes through lush vegetation providing a dreamy shady environment. The trail is accompanied, in many places (especially at the beginning), by a stream that makes it muddy and therefore slippery. On days after rain it may be difficult to cross. Since the path is not marked, caution is required at junctions in order to maintain our direction. When the downhill path ends, we come across a narrow stream which is easily passed. After this the path becomes uphill, we meet a dirt road, which we take on the uphill side until the moment we meet a gate and next to it the path starts uphill again, which becomes very steep on the way. At its end, the path meets an asphalt road, which joins the main road of the settlement, where after passing the interesting area with the wells, we head to the starting point of the route, the parking area.   On the island of Corfu there are: Citizen Service Centres in the settlements (from north to south): Sidari, Acharavi, Kassiopi, Ypsos, Paleokastritsa, Corfu Town, Achilleion, Moraitika, Argyrades and Lefkimmi. Police stations in the settlements (from north to south): Karousades, Paleokastritsa, Corfu Town and Lefkimmi. Numerous private medical offices, medical centres and pharmacies, while public health structures exist (from north to south): the Avliotes Regional Medical Centre, the Acharavi Regional Medical Centre, the Agios Athanasios Health Centre, the Hospital and Emergency Centre in Corfu Town, and the Lefkimmi Health Centre,   Kalafationes Kalafationes are located in Middle Corfu, 9 km from Corfu town and at an altitude of 182 m., between a dense olive grove and a virgin forest of chestnut trees. It has 461 inhabitants (2011 census). It is a designated traditional settlement. Walking along its traditional cobbled streets, you will admire the folk architecture of the houses and enjoy the hospitality of the inhabitants in the traditional cafes. The history of the settlement dates back to ancient times. Evidence for this, is the existence of ancient settlements in the wider area (Kamara, Kouramades, Kastelanoi, etc.), but also the fact that the calcite found on the hills of Kalafationes and Varypatades was used in antiquity for the construction of the columns and the epithelium of the Doric Temple of Kardaki. It suffered, like other villages on the island, great destruction during the invasion of Barbarossa in 1573. The name of the settlement "Kalafationes" comes from the work of reed drilling, which was the livelihood of many of its inhabitants, either by waterproofing boats or, probably, barrels. In Kalafaties it is worth visiting the modern equestrian club, where riding and therapeutic riding lessons are held, as well as the tzitsibira factory, the only one that still produces this traditional soft drink, a relic of the British rule on the island. In the wider area there are five churches, Agios Ioannis (in the area of Gerama), the Church of Prophitis Ilias, The churches of Agios Ioannis (in the centre of the village) which is the metropolitan church of the village, Panagia (also in the centre of the village), Agioi Pantes (in the south-eastern edge of the village) where it has been moved and currently is functioning as cemetery, and Agia Marina (in the district of Kothoniki). The neighbouring villages are Varypatades, Kouramades, Viros and Kastellani of Mesi. Kobitsi Forest Just a few kilometers away from Corfu town, the village of Kobitsi is located at the top of a hill with a panoramic view of Peleka, the lagoon of Halikiopoulos and the mountain of Agioi Deka. In Kobitsi there are the mansion of the homonymous family, the high bell tower in the church of Agioi Apostoloi and the restored Venetian fountain. Just outside the settlement there is a beautiful forest with pine and chestnut trees, an ideal place for a walk on foot or by bicycle through the lush vegetation and wild flowers, accompanied by the chirping of birds. Varipatades It is one of the most beautiful settlements, belonging to the municipal unit of Achilleion. It is located next to Kalafationes. It is a designated listed settlement, built on the slopes of a hill, the top of which is covered with olive and cypress trees.   Walking along the cobbled streets of Varipatades, we will admire the tall mansions with pastel colours and Corfiot beige tiles, the traditional houses, built almost one on top of the other, the small traditional square, where the church of Agios Stefanos is located. In Varipatades, a unique custom is revived on the evening of Holy Friday: Hundreds of snail shells, the so-called "boboloi" are made into lamps, with cotton wicks in oil, and placed lit all along the route where the Epitaph passes, creating an extremely solemn atmosphere.
Location
Corfu Island
Coordinates
39.59516109 - 19.87060912
Tour 1
In the salt pans
At the Salt Marshes: Salt Marshes of Lefkimmi     The walker’s orientation and safety is solely their responsibility. The present report, the relevant tracks (gpx) and the rest of the informational material are just supplementary. The proper equipment is necessary, depending on the weather conditions and the nature of the route.     Route’s type: mixed Route’s duration: 50 minutes Route’s length: 3,300 m Level of difficulty: easy Suggested season: All seasons, if weather conditions permit it. Avoid midday in the summer because there are no shady places along a big part of the route.     The route: The water level is likely to require a variation of the route. The route is indicative and the walker can adapt it according to his or her own opinion. The route starts at the Environmental Education Centre and heads northeast, parallel to the beach along a clearly defined but unmarked path. At the end of the path we turn around and return to the chapel by the same route and turn southeast into the lake by the landscaped paths provided. We reach the opposite side and after moving north-northeast parallel to the salt marshes, we return by the same route and cross the salt marshes by another, more westerly, corridor Suggested season: all seasons, weather permitting. Due to the lack of shade and the nature of the area, it is advisable to avoid midday hours during the summer.   On the island of Corfu there are: Citizen Service Centres in the settlements (from north to south): Sidari, Acharavi, Kassiopi, Ipsos, Paleokastritsa, Corfu Town, Achilleion, Moraitika, Argyrades and Lefkimmi. Police stations in the settlements (from north to south): Karousades, Paleokastritsa, Corfu Town and Lefkimmi. Numerous private clinics, medical centres and pharmacies, as well as public health structures exist (from north to south): the Avliotes Regional Medical Centre, the Acharavi Regional Medical Centre, the Agios Athanasios Health Centre, the Hospital and Emergency Centre in Corfu Town, and the Lefkimmi Health Centre.   Salt Marshes The salt marshes of Lefkimmi consists of a peninsula of about 2000 acres in southern Corfu, north of the town of Lefkimmi, with which it borders. They are one of the island's most important wetlands. This area has been used as salt marshes since the time of the Angevins (13th-14th century). In the 16th century there were already 80 salt pans and the Venetian salt storehouses and the accompanying areas were built, the administration building, the weighing house, the threshing floor - draining room, where the workers used to 'pile up' the salt, the engine room - pumping station and the outpost. From 1928-1933 they temporarily ceased to operate. In 1988 salt was produced for the last time. In 1993 they were handed over to the Municipality of Lefkimmia. Salt was regarded as 'white gold' during the period when the salt marshes were in their peak. The profits from the Corfiot salt were so much that it was used as a barter product to meet the needs of the Corfiot market in wheat, but also to provide resources for fortification and other projects. Today, the premises of the old Venetian warehouses, which were restored in 1999 by the municipality of Lefkimmia, house the Corfu Environmental Education Centre. Its establishment and operation is recorded since 2009 and until today it is continuously enriched, from NSRF funds, with a modern supervisory, audiovisual and scientific equipment. Here we will also find the picturesque chapel of Agios Ioannis Kolympistis. The Lefkimmi Salt Marshes belong to the Natura 2000 network as a Special Protection Area for birds. More than 180 species of birds have been recorded in the area. Several of them are endangered or have a protection status. Some typical species are Barbary and Chestnut-crowned Gulls in winter, Reed-billed Cormorants, Seaside Warblers and Nankeen Gulls in summer and Dappled Warblers and Nankeen Warblers in spring. Lefkimmi It is the second largest settlement of Corfu, 40 km from Corfu Town, in the southern part of the island. It is surrounded by olive trees and vineyards. Lefkimmi is particularly picturesque, with narrow streets, tall houses, beautiful squares and churches. In its narrow streets there are old mansions, old and modern houses. It is worth visiting the churches "Agii Theodoroi" and "Agios Arsenios", which are famous for their architecture. The port of Lefkimmi offers daily ferry services to and from Igoumenitsa. The river of Lefkimmi crosses the settlement and reaches the sea. Next to the river there are restaurants and cafes. A daring rescue operation occurred in Lefkimmi during World War II, when a Lancaster crashed. Locals rescued the crew, hid the pilots and then led them to Kondokali, where they were picked up by a British submarine.  
Location
Corfu Island
Coordinates
39.44908337 - 20.06857207
Tour 1
Round of Koutavos
Tour of Koutavos: The Koutavos Lagoon in Argostoli The walker’s orientation and safety is solely their responsibility. The present report, the relevant tracks (gpx) and the rest of the informational material are just supplementary. The proper equipment is necessary, depending on the weather conditions and the nature of the route.  Route’s type: circular Route’s duration: 1 hour and a half Route’s length: 4,900 meters Level of difficulty: easy Suggested season: All seasons, weather permitting. During summer, you should avoid midday hours. The route: It is a relaxing flat trail around the artificial lake of Koutavos. The course begins at the start of the De Bosset Bridge in the town of Argostoli, which we cross, enjoying the lake on one side and the bay of Argostoli on the other. By the time we reach the opposite side, we head southeast along the Argostoli - Sami highway, which requires increased attention due to the traffic. After the bridge and in less than 300 meters, we reach an organized viewing area overlooking the whole peninsula and the town of Argostoli. We continue our southeastern course along the national road paying close attention and after passing the degraded area of warehouses and other facilities (really, why are they there?) we enter the eucalyptus forest and the landscape changes, highlighting the environmental value of the lake and the area. In the eucalyptus forest there are organized paths that lead us directly to the organized and beautifully landscaped coastal pedestrian - bicycle path of the city. On our way, we observe the lake environment with its water birds and special flora. Gradually, the pedestrian path leads us to the urban environment of the city and our starting point. Except for the part of the walk that takes place on the national road and requires increased caution, the rest of the route is completely easy-going and relaxing, combining the urban environment of the city with the special landscape of the lake. The duration of the march is estimated at one and a half hours, due to the increased caution required when marching on the asphalt road, which is assumed to have increased traffic. As a circular route it can also be done from the reverse direction. In Kefalonia there are Health Centres in Sami and Hospitals in Argostoli and Lixouri. There are also police services in Fiskardo, Sami, Poros, Lixouri and Argostoli. Citizen Service Centres are in Argostoli, Livathou, Poros and in Agia Efthimia. Artificial Lake Koutavos  Koutavos (Italian: Cutavo) or Argostoli Lagoon, is a lagoon in Kefalonia, located southeast of the mouth of the bay of Argostoli. It has an ellipsoid shape with a maximum length of about 6.5 km and a minimum of 1.1 km, and an extent of 1300 acres. Its depth is very shallow, up to one fathom (about 1.8 m). Its calm waters reflect the opposite hill. It takes its name from the ancient word 'kottavos', which means 'basin'. It is one of the most important wetlands of Kefalonia. Black grouses, ducks, swans, gulls and many species of fish live here. In earlier years it was a swamp, dangerous for public health because of the malaria, carried by the numerous mosquitoes. It essentially changed its form in 1813 with the construction of the bridge that bounded it, separating the Koutavos lagoon from the bay. The bridge is 1 km long and was built by the English during the British occupation. The De Bosset Bridge, or Devosetou Bridge, was named after its builder, the Swiss engineer Charles De Bosset, an officer of the British army and commander of Kefalonia. It is the largest stone bridge over the sea in the world. In 1813, a four-sided obelisk made of carved stones was also built, rising from the sea. It is called the "Kolona", it was built in honour of the bridge's creators and it still exists today. The bridge has been a pedestrian walkway since July 2005, following a decision by the Ministry of Culture. Argostoli Argostoli is the capital of Kefalonia and the largest city of the island, with a population of 9,748 permanent residents, according to the last census (2011). It is built on the hills around the lagoon of Koutavos. The area has been inhabited since 1600. In 1757 the Venetian rulers of Kefalonia decided to move the capital of the island, which until then was the Castle of Agios Georgios, to Argostoli. The town of Argostoli was the scene of some of the most important historical moments of the whole island, such as the burning of the 'Golden Bible', the Libro d'Oro, in the square of Campana, which put an end to the discrimination between the nobility and the people. But also, one of the most important battles between the rebellious Kefalonians and the English garrison, in 1849, was fought on the city's De Bosset stone bridge. The town of Argostoli, before the devastating earthquakes of 1953, had buildings of great architectural value, both public and private, with many Western European influences. Today the heart of the city beats around the central square and between Lithostrotos and Siteboron street, where we will find museums, a library, statues, theatres, neoclassical buildings, but also many shops, cafes and bars. During the route, the walker will encounter QR information signs at the following points: (a) at the start of the route at the beginning of the De Bosset bridge (on the town side); (b) at the end of the De Bosset bridge (opposite the town); (c) at the viewpoint next to the asphalt road; (d) on the asphalt road before the facilities; (e) at the eastern start of the path (in the woodland); (f) on the landscaped path at the height of the football pitch.
Location
Kefalonia Island
Coordinates
38.16520776 - 20.50682932
Tour 1
At the waterfalls
In the waterfalls: Nydri - Dimosaris Waterfalls The walker’s orientation and safety is solely their responsibility. The present report, the relevant tracks (gpx) and the rest of the informational material are just supplementary. The proper equipment is necessary, depending on the weather conditions and the nature of the route.  Route’s type: linear  Route’s duration: 1 hour (one way) Route’s length: 3,700 metres (one way) Level of difficulty: easy Suggested season: All seasons, weather permitting. The route Dimosaris Waterfalls is a fairly popular destination, at least during the tourist season. The route proposed here is not the standard main route but follows parallel roads and paths for most of it. The proposed route is not signposted and following it requires caution. The route starts from the main pedestrian street of Nydri (indicatively, the taxi stand is considered as the start) and continues north-northeast along the pedestrian street until it meets the Dimosaris bridge. From there we turn west, parallel to the river (there is a sign) until we reach the main asphalt road, the main road of Lefkada - Vasiliki. At this point, and for about 80 meters we follow the provincial road to the north and after passing the bridge we turn west on the small asphalt road where we continue on the same route, with direction to the river (Northwest - West). In about 850 metres, at the point where the asphalt turns to the south, we continue straight on, through the dirt road which leads us to an olive grove. We easily cross the olive grove and end up at a junction of small roads. We continue straight on and after passing the local stadium (on our left) we turn west from the bridge where we reach the main road leading to the parking area for the waterfalls, after about 600 metres. In the parking area there is a café from which a tastefully landscaped path starts, easily passable and requiring increased attention in only a few places. The path leads us through a lush environment next to the river, to the dreamlike and imposing landscape of the gorge and the waterfall. As a linear route, the return is by the same route unless the walker has arranged to have a vehicle waiting for him at the parking area of the waterfall. On the island of Lefkada there are: Citizen Service Centres in the town of Lefkada, in Nydri and in Vasiliki. Police Headquarters in the town of Lefkada and a Police Station in Vlyho. In addition to private health structures there are: Hospital in Lefkada Town, Health Centre in Vasiliki and Regional Medical Centre in Syvros. Nydri Nydri is the most famous and cosmopolitan tourist resort of the island of Lefkada. The settlement became particularly famous when in 1963 the ship owner Aristotle Onassis bought the opposite island of Skorpios. Since then, it has hosted numerous celebrities from all over the world, which gave it international fame. Today, a statue of Onassis stands in the harbour of the village.  Today it has exceptional tourist amenities with many accommodations, tavernas and nightclubs. In addition, it has many attractions and a lovely beach. Apart from the famous waterfalls in Dimosari, it is worth visiting the chapel of Agia Kyriaki , located opposite Nydri, in the bay of Vlychos, with excellent views of Nydri and the island of Valaoritis, Madouri. On the way to the chapel, on the hill of Nymphs, we meet the grave of the archaeologist Dörpfeld. The archaeologist William Dörpfeld was a supporter of the theory that Lefkada is the Ithaca of Odysseus and his palace was located in Nydri. During excavations in the plain of Nydri at the Steno site, he found many remarkable findings, which testify that Nydri has been inhabited since prehistoric times. Dimosaris Waterfalls The Dimosaris Waterfalls are located just 4 km from the sea, in the homonymous gorge. They are located very close to the most cosmopolitan part of the island, Nydri, and yet the peace and tranquility of the landscape is unique. It is one of the most important natural attractions of the island, even in the season when water is scarce.  At the entrance of the waterfalls there is an almost "arched" opening from which the rock has been cut away. We come across the first waterfall, Ronies, among huge rocks. It is the smallest and forms a beautiful turquoise small lake. Climbing up the steps we meet the next waterfall, about 12 metres high. Even with a small amount of water, it is charming. The dense vegetation, the gurgling water, the imposing, smooth and shiny rocks, the pond, all contribute to an unforgettable experience. A swim in their gurgling waters will also be unforgettable.
Location
Lefkada
Coordinates
38.68239801 - 20.71701122
Tour 1
At the observatory
At the observatory: Matthaios - Pantokrator     The walker’s orientation and safety is solely their responsibility. The present report, the relevant tracks (gpx) and the rest of the informational material are just supplementary. The proper equipment is necessary, depending on the weather conditions and the nature of the route.     Route’s type: mixed Route’s duration: 1 hour and 50 minutes Route’s length: 6.200 m Level of difficulty: easy Suggested season: all seasons, if weather conditions permit it     The route The start, and therefore the end of the route, is indicative since there are other paths and roads that connect the route to the monastery with the settlement. However, this particular route is suggested because the settlement has limited parking space which is getting worse during the summer months and therefore walkers who arrive at Matthaios with their own vehicle should enter the centre of the settlement. This particular route starts outside the settlement, for the reasons mentioned above, on the dirt road leading to the monastery. At the first big turn ("fourketa"), the marked path starts in a northerly direction. The trail is uphill in a lush and shady environment with a smooth ascent. After a while and to the right, a more difficult and steeper trail begins and ends at the same point but higher. The choice is up to the walker. The two trails are marked with red and blue signs. After the "junction" of the two paths to the east there is an excellent viewpoint towards the Ionian Sea and the Monastery is quite close from this point. After visiting the Monastery of Pantokrator (if the site is open) we make a western detour of the complex along the wall and we come across two wonderful viewpoints: one looking west and the Ionian Sea and shortly afterwards and the other one, looking east and overlooking the settlement, northern Corfu and the coasts of Epirus and Albania. The trail continues downhill in a shady, overgrown environment and in some places it becomes steep and requires increased attention. At this part of the route there is a junction where another path leads to Prasoudi beach. After about 600 meters of descent we meet the dirt road (leading to the monastery) and continue downhill to the starting point of the route. Alternatively, about fifty meters after we met the dirt road, a steep path starts on our right, leading us a little lower towards the settlement (not suggested). After the end of the path it is worth a visit to the Byzantine castle and the Paleolithic cave at Gardiki   On the island of Corfu there are: Citizen Service Centres in the settlements (from north to south): Sidari, Acharavi, Kassiopi, Ypsos, Paleokastritsa, Corfu Town, Achilleion, Moraitika, Argyrades and Lefkimmi. Police stations in the settlements (from north to south): Karousades, Paleokastritsa, Corfu Town and Lefkimmi. Numerous private medical offices, medical centres and pharmacies, while public health structures exist (from north to south): Avliotes Regional Medical Centre, Acharavi Regiona Medical Centre, Agios Athanasios Health Centre, Hospital and Emergency Centre in Corfu Town, Lefkimi Health Centre.   Agios Matthaios In the fertile plain near the castle of Gardiki, there used to be the village of Zygonos, which was destroyed by Hayreddin Barbarossa. Then the crops were gutted, the population of the countryside was wiped out and about 20,000 Corfiots were sold as slaves. Agios Matthaios was built in the 16th century after this invasion. It is a traditional settlement located about 25 km from Corfu town and has 1,088 inhabitants (2011 census). The settlement is built amphitheatrically and the view of the green countryside is fantastic. Here you will also see the cave that, according to the island's inhabitants, is connected to the sea, the Hole of Pelau. Its homonymous beach is awarded with the blue flag and is very popular. The deserted beach of Halikounas is also located near the village. The area is also ideal for excursions, such as a visit to the octagonal castle of Gardiki, which dates back to the era of the Epirus Despotate (13th century) and in which or to the monastery of Christ Pantokrator, there are remains of ancient temples. Monastery of Pantokrator Near the settlement of Agios Matthaios, in the area of Mesi, is the Monastery of Christ Pantokrator. The ruined monastery, built on the slope of Mount Agios Matthaios, probably dates back to the beginning of the 14th century. In the area there are several abandoned buildings and the church of Pantokrator, as well. The church is of royal type, with arched doors and windows, and a sloping roof. It is celebrated on 6th August. The Castle of Gardiki It is located near the village of Agios Matthaios, 23 km from Corfu Town It is a 13th century Byzantine castle and the only medieval fortress that survives in the southern part of the island. It is most likely to have been built during the period of the Despotate of Epirus by the ruler of the Despotate Michael I Angelos Komninos. Its purpose was to protect the border from pirates, but also from the brief raids of the Italian states. Some historians date it to the 11th century, after the fortification of the western border during the Byzantine Empire. It has an octagonal shape with eight rectangular towers in a radial arrangement, the most important of which is the southern tower. Paleolithic cave in Gardiki The Paleolithic cave in Gardiki is located in an olive grove at an altitude of 60 meters and it is located very close to the Byzantine fortification of Gardiki and Prasoudi beach. It is a horizontal cave with two entrances and a length of about 20 meters. Near the southeastern entrance there are large rocks, indicating cave's larger size in the past. It is 13 meters high and has a rocky roof that has succumbed to gradual erosion and massive rainfall, causing water to drip in some places. It was a base for hunters and gatherers and it is considered as one of the most important prehistoric sites in Greece. The first excavations began in 1965 by Professor Augustus Sordinas. Evidence of human presence was discovered, dating back to the Palaeolithic Age (20,000 BC). The excavations revealed flint tools, animal bones and stones with ochre residue. During the Palaeolithic period the sea level was much lower and Corfu was not an island but connected to mainland Greece. The separation from Epirus occurred during the Neolithic period, around 10,000 BC, when the sea level rose as the ice melted. Inside the cave you can see the geological situation of the past. The cave is accessible but unsuitable for people with disabilities due to the climbing needed.  
Location
Corfu Island
Coordinates
39.48959877 - 19.87101762
Tour 1
In Myzithres and the sunset
In Mizithres and the sunset: Keri - Keri Hill - View of Mizithres - Keri The walker’s orientation and safety is solely their responsibility. The present report, the relevant tracks (gpx) and the rest of the informational material are just supplementary. The proper equipment is necessary, depending on the weather conditions and the nature of the route.  Route’s type: circular Route’s duration: 1 hour and 20 minutes Route’s length: 4,200 metres Level of difficulty: easy Suggested season: All seasons, weather permitting it. In summer, you should avoid midday hours. The route It is a circular route with landscape changes. The route starts from the central square of the village and ascends eastwards to the beautifully landscaped area of the cultural centre (Church of Agia Paraskevi). Then, and to the east and uphill from the asphalt road in a turn of the road (hairpin bend) we turn south - southwest, where the road becomes a downhill dirt road, without any particular difficulties for the pedestrian. Following this dirt road and without any deviations (be careful because the route is not marked) we reach the viewpoint of Mizithra. At this point the view is unique and stunning, although special attention is required due to the great height of the cliff and the possible erosion of the ground. From this point, the dirt road continues and after about eight hundred meters, it meets the asphalt road that connects Faros with the village. Here, the walker can choose to visit the lighthouse (although it is usually closed due to the fact that it belongs to the Navy) or to climb up the asphalt road to the village and complete the route. The duration of the hike (not including any stops) is around an hour and a half. As a circular route it can also be done from the reverse direction but in this case it will be more uphill. On the island of Zakynthos there are: Citizen Service Centres in the settlements (from north to south) of Alykes, Zakynthos Town, Machairado and Pantokratoras. Police Station in Katastari and General Police Directorate in Zakynthos Town. A number of private clinics, medical centres and pharmacies, as well as public health facilities are located in Zakynthos Town, General Hospital, and Health Centre in Kallithea. Keri At the southwestern tip of the island of Zakynthos, the traditional settlement of Keri stands out, dominating the impressive southwestern coastline with its wonderful natural attractions. It is located about 20 km from Zakynthos town and has about 150 inhabitants. Stone houses that survived the devastating earthquake of 1953, narrow streets, wonderful old churches, make up a really interesting architectural landscape. Keri is a beautiful village, famous for the legend that accompanies its church, Panagia tou Keri. It is said that once the Virgin Mary hid Keri in dense fog to save it from pirate raids. Mizithres  Mizithres, the small and the big one, are actually two white, conical, towering rocks, located just below the lighthouse of Keri. One of these two rocky mounds has an opening that you can swim across and is inhabited by numerous sea starfish. They are named after the local cheese produced on the island, Mizithra, which is also white. The view is breathtaking as the cliffs spring up after the cliff, one next to the other, and in combination with the crystal clear turquoise waters, the caves of Keri and the steep mountainsides make up a magnificent landscape. Lighthouse Keri One of the most popular places in Keri is just 1 km from the village. The lighthouse of Keri offers a magnificent view of the blue Ionian Sea, above a high rock 300 m high. From this point you can enjoy one of the most enchanting and picturesque sunsets in the Ionian Sea, although in recent years the place has been fenced off. Caves of Keri The Caves of Keri, which can only be reached by sea, are spread out near Cape Marathia, on the southwestern side of the island. Dozens of caves are formed on this stretch of coast, many with an entrance that barely allows you to swim through, while others have an entrance large enough to be entered directly by boat. In addition, along the coast there are two rock arches, where under the large arch you can pass by boat While visiting the caves, it is possible to stop for a swim and sunbathing on one of the small sandy beaches of Cape Marathia or to proceed by boat to admire the Mizithres. Panagia Keriotissa It is an old impressive church, in burgundy and ochre colours. We do not know the original form of the church, but we do know that it belonged to Venice, which granted it to the inhabitants of Keri in 1630. It was renovated in 1745 and after the earthquake of 1953 it was restored. The reliefs on the windows and the entrance with its columns resembling ancient columns are impressive. The bell tower is also magnificent. Inside the church is the ancient icon of the Virgin Mary, a right-handed icon considered miraculous. It is said that once the Virgin Mary hid the Candle in a dense fog to save it from pirate raids. The icon is double, with the Virgin Mary on one side and Agios Nikolaos on the other, and it is partially burnt. The church was built on the spot where the icon was found. On the parapet of the matroneum there is a painting of the procession of the icon during the Venetian period, by an unknown artist. The iconostasis, carved in wood and gilded, was made in 1750. The church celebrates Easter Monday and many local customs are observed, too.  During the route, the walker will encounter QR information signs at the following points: a) at the start of the route at the central square of the village, b) at the square of the cultural centre, c) at the junction after the road curve, d) after the next junction, e) at the viewpoint of Mizithra, f) at the end of the dirt road, g) at the junction for Panagia Keriotissa.
Location
Zakynthos
Coordinates
37.64884061 - 20.81593928
Tour 1
From Lakka to Loggo
From Lakka to Loggos: Lakka - Aronatika - Grammatikaiika - Rantatika - Loggos The walker’s orientation and safety is solely their responsibility. The present report, the relevant tracks (gpx) and the rest of the informational material are just supplementary. The proper equipment is necessary, depending on the weather conditions and the nature of the route.  Route’s type: linear Route’s duration: 2 hours Route’s length: 6,500 metres Level of difficulty: easy Suggested season: all seasons, weather permitting The route The route starts from the settlement of Lakka, from where a beautifully landscaped path begins over the western beaches of the settlement, where the walker enjoys the view of the beautiful homonymous bay. A landslide has occurred at one point and increased caution is required. After about 700 metres the path meets a concrete road, which is followed south going uphill. The road passes through olive groves, in a largely shady environment, dotted with beautiful buildings. We continue along the same road for about two kilometres and after passing Aronatika, we follow the path that continues along a wall of privately owned land (there are signs). From this point we very soon reach the wonderful and unique bay of Ipapanti with its vertical cliffs and caves. The view of the bay, which requires increased attention, is breathtaking. There, apart from the vertical rocks and the bay in the background, we enjoy the endless blue of the Ionian Sea. We then head towards the area of Rantatika and the enchanting and evocative site of the church of Ipapanti through a pretty downhill path. The area is shady and overgrown with olive trees, cypresses and other vegetation. After passing Rantatika, we continue our downhill course through the lush vegetation of the ravine and after passing the stream (which doesn't present any difficulty) we climb up the stone cobbled road towards Loggos, where we meet the main asphalt road. At the junction we see the old English tank of 1862 and continue our slightly downhill course from the main asphalt road which leads us to Loggos. At some point, we take a short detour, taking a shortcut through a path, which takes us back to the central asphalt. Less than a kilometre later, we find Loggos with its beautiful beaches, its welcoming shops and the evocative ruins of the old soap factory. In Paxos there is: Health Centre, Police Station and Citizen Service Centre (KEP). Lakka Lakka is a settlement in the North of Paxos. It is nestled at the bottom of a sheltered bay, popular with boats of all kinds for the safety it offers. It takes its name from its Souliotes inhabitants, who, persecuted by Ali Pasha of Ioannina, fled to Paxos.  In its streets you will find small picturesque stone houses. It is surrounded by green hills and has very nice beaches, such as Monodentri and Harami beach. Near Lakka there are also very interesting sea caves. Among them is the most remarkable cave of Hypapanti. Among the sights of the settlement is the Byzantine church of Ipapanti, which dates back to 1600. The church has an impressive bell tower and a well-crafted iconostasis. Also worth visiting is the stone lighthouse, which was built in 1832, is 36 metres high and rises 108 metres above sea level. Loggos Loggos is a small, but very picturesque settlement of Paxos, nestled in pine trees and olive trees. It is 5 km away from Gaios and has about 200 inhabitants.  From the harbour of Loggos, we can, by renting a small boat, navigate the turquoise beaches of the island and its sea caves. Very close to Longos are the exceptional beaches of Levrechio, Marmari, Kipos and Kipiadis. At the edge of the settlement dominates the old oil and soap factory of Anemogiannis, next to the primary school. It is also worth visiting the church of Zoodochos Pigi, whose existence is mentioned since 1739, in order to admire its hagiographies. Every year in the first days of September, Loggos hosts a particularly interesting classical music festival.  Anemogianni Soap Factory in Loggos On our left hand, as we face the harbour of Loggos, we find an imposing ruined building, which is now being repaired. It is the old soap factory of the brothers Stefanos and Ioannis Anemogiannis. It was first operated at the end of the 19th century as an oilseed processing factory, unique in the Balkans in terms of size and equipment. In 1932, under the leadership of Spyros Anemogiannis, a chemist, the expansion of the factory began, which evolved into a soap factory. In its peak, the factory employed 60-70 workers. In the 1960s, after two fires, the factory began to decline. It was finally closed in the 1980s.
Location
Paxos Island
Coordinates
39.19927443 - 20.16723864
Tour 1
Limnothalassa Antinioti
This wetland situated on the northern coast of the island of Kerkyra (Corfu) is important for the threatened species Lutra lutra as well as for the ecological balance in the area. In addition, the site is characterized by a variety of habitats, and human activities have not yet exerted much influence upon it. This is of great importance for an island like Kerkyra which shows great tourist development and great pressure due to building construction. Source: Natura2000 viewer, European Comission.
Location
Corfu Island
Coordinates
39.81309029 - 19.85314331