In the Monastery of Ayios Andreas
At the monastery of Ayios Andreas: Volimes - Monastery of Ayios Andreas - Volimes
The walker’s orientation and safety is solely their responsibility. The present report, the relevant tracks (gpx) and the rest of the informational material are just supplementary. The proper equipment is necessary, depending on the weather conditions and the nature of the route.
Route’s type: linear (the starting and the ending point are the same)
Route’s duration: 1 hour and 20 minutes
Route’s length: 4.300 metres
Level of difficulty: easy
Suggested season: All seasons, weather permitting. In summer, you should avoid the midday hours because there are not shady places after a certain point (at least half of the route).
The route
The route starts from the church of Ayios Spyridon in Volimes and after a short downhill (about 400 meters) on asphalt we turn west on the dirt road. In fact, this dirt road leads us to the old monastery, if we follow it carefully, because the route is not signposted and some attention is required at junctions, although it is easy to pick the route since the dirt road clearly "dominates". The route is downhill and in some places it becomes steeply downhill.
The total route up to the ruins of the old monastery is more than 4,200 metres and passes through a green area that is trying to recover from recent fires. The landscape in some places, fortunately a small part of the route, is defined by the burnt carcasses of pine and other trees, but for most of the route's length passes through fresh young pine forest, particularly dense. So dense, in fact, that it has taken over the old path, and following it, it is particularly difficult and not recommended.
The ruins of the monastery are imposing in a particularly peaceful landscape with an excellent view of the Ionian Sea. The walker can also enjoy the traces of the old frescoes of the church (those that have been removed), which now has no roof anymore.
As a linear route, the return is by the same road, doubling the total time of the walk, which is now uphill. It should be noted that vehicle access to the monastery is particularly difficult due to waterlogging on the road and it is not recommended.
On the island of Zakynthos there are:
Citizen Service Centres in the settlements (from north to south) of Alykes, Zakynthos Town, Machairado and Pantokratoras.
Police Station in Katastari and General Police Directorate in Zakynthos Town.
A number of private clinics, medical centres and pharmacies, while public health structures are located in Zakynthos Town, General Hospital, and Health Centre in Kallithea.
Volimes
Perched on the northern slopes of Mount Vrachionas, at an altitude of 430 meters and 31 kilometers from the town of Zakynthos, is the settlement of Volimes. It is mentioned in documents and contracts of the 15th and 16th centuries under the name 'Chorion of Volimas'. They also identify their three individual settlements as Kato, Messino and Apanou Chorio.
Around 750 inhabitants live here, who, apart from tourism, are engaged in the production of local wine, honey, Zakynthian oil cheese and the manufacture of handmade lace and kilims.
At Volimes we will also find interesting pre-earthquake houses, churches and bell towers, as well as what remains of the beautiful seven windmills that used to adorn the village. But also the restored windmill of Fragogianni, built between 1836 and 1839 by Maltese craftsmen. It is built on a plateau, at an altitude of 460 m., between the settlements of Ano and Meso Volimas and has a beautiful view of the Ionian Sea and Kefalonia.
In the Messianic village we will find the churches of Ayia Paraskevi and Ayios Theodosios and in the lower village, Ayios Spyridon.
Monastery of Ayios Andreas
The monastery of Ayios Andreas is located in Mesovouni of Volima, in a rugged but beautiful location. It is estimated to have been built in the mid-15th century, first of all on the larger of the two Diaporian islands that were formerly connected to the mainland. In 1595, because of the fear of pirates, the monastery in Mesovouni was built by John Theodosius and his grandsons, who transferred the icons to the more recent church. In 1890, the Monastery of Ayios Andreas was united with the Monastery of Ayios Georgios of Kremnon and became its metochion. In 1953 it was demolished by the earthquakes, but its great frescoes were transferred to the Post-Byzantine Museum of Zakynthos, where we can visit and enjoy them today.
Today the Monastery is in a dilapidated condition and unfortunately it has been looted, although efforts are being undertaken to restore it.
During the route the walker will encounter QR information signs at the following points:
α) near the church of Ayios Spyridon b) at the beginning of the dirt road, c) after the first crossroads, d) after the second crossroads, e) approximately in the middle of the dirt road (at the foot of the path), f) at the beginning of the long downhill (where the concrete pavement begins), g) at the entrance to the ruins of the old monastery of Ayios Andreas.
.jpg)